THE HONORS AND AWARDS COMMITTEE, 2023-2024 SUMMARY OF AWARDS

Medical Student Awards

<u>The College of Medicine Outstanding Senior Award:</u> Awarded to the top 3 senior medical students who have reached academic excellence in their class. A plaque will be awarded to each student.

Benjamin Francis Nichols

Michael Haekwang Kim

Bailey Reagan Antonowicz

The Merck Manual Award: Awarded to three (3) senior medical students for scholastic achievement. Qualification is at the discretion of the Honors and Awards Committee. Awardees received an acrylic award in a replica bookcase representing the Merck Manual. The award was personalized with each student's name and was accompanied by instructions on how to access the free mobile app version of The Merck Manual as well as provide information about their free website at merckmanuals.com. Plaques will be given to each student.

Jillian Carr Dawley

Katherine Rachel Simms

Courtney Rose Crawford

<u>Honors and Committee Outstanding Achievement Award</u>: Awarded to a varying number of senior medical students for scholastic achievement. Number of awards is at the discretion of the Honors and Awards Committee. A certificate of achievement will be awarded to each student.

James Christopher Mamaril-Davis

Tiffany Stella Shamas

Matthew Leonard Repp

Daniel Sadoway

Lawrence Theodore Mazzei Matiski

Lauren Murphy

Newson and Mildred Holesapple Estate to benefit Outstanding medical Students in research: Presented to an outstanding senior(s) in the area of medical research. Students are asked to submit a report of their work to the H&A committee and include CV; information they would like to support their nomination; and a summary from a research mentor. Awardees will receive a certificate and a monetary award.

Sanjay Menghani

Jonathan Credo

Yash Suri

<u>The Eleanor Johnson Academic Excellence Award:</u> Awarded to an outstanding senior in the College of Medicine who has not only excelled in academics but in compassion, collegiality and service. Chosen by the Honors and Awards Committee and award by the Arizona Health Sciences Library Director, the student receives a certificate and monetary award.

Faissal Stipho

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award: The Gold Foundation sponsors the annual Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Awards for a graduating student and faculty member at nearly 80 of the nation's medical schools. This award is presented to the student and faculty member who best demonstrate the Foundation's ideals of outstanding compassion in the delivery of care, respect for patients, their families, and healthcare colleagues, as well as demonstrated clinical excellence.

Faculty: Amy Sussman, MD

Student: Ellen Silvertson

<u>Deans Special Achievement Award:</u> This award is to acknowledge a graduating medical student who has achieved academically in the face of considerable adversity. Characteristics that describe a student receiving this award are persistence, tenacity, determination, and endurance.

Kaela Hiatt

Bryan Little