### V.B. Membership

All members of the Voting Faculty are eligible for election to a Committee, with the exception of those faculty having Head, Chair, or Dean in their title, unless otherwise noted. At least one-quarter of the members of each Permanent Committee *and Standing Committee* will be from basic science departments and at least one quarter will be from clinical departments unless otherwise noted.

\*Additions in blue.

**Reason for change:** Clarification to ensure basic science representation on all faculty committees, not just permanent committees. Clarification to committee membership aligning with current practices.

## V.C. Student Representation on Committees

There will be student membership on the Admissions, *Honor Code, MD/PhD*, Student Progress, and Tucson Educational Policy Committees. Student members will be chosen according to procedures established by the student government.

\*Additions in blue.

**Reason for change:** Updates the list of committees, in alphabetical order, with student representation for accuracy (Honor Code, MD/PhD committees previously left off the list).

# V.E. Election of Members to Permanent and Standing Committees

Members of Permanent *and Standing* Committees of the Faculty will be elected following the regular spring meeting of the COM-Tucson Voting Faculty.

**Reason for change:** Clarification to election of committee membership aligning with current practices.

<sup>\*</sup>Additions in blue.

# V.G. Terms of Office and Removal

Terms of office will begin on July 1 following the election. The terms of office of Permanent *and Standing* Committee members will be 3 years, except where otherwise noted.

Reason for change: Clarification of terms of office aligning with current practices.

<sup>\*</sup>Additions in blue.

New:

VI.H. MD/PhD *Admissions* Committee

\*Additions in **blue**.

**Reason for change:** Clarification of committee name to align with committee charge.

# **VI.I. Nominating Committee**

The COM-Tucson Faculty will elect the Nominating Committee, which will consist of six (6) of its Voting Faculty members. The Nominating Committee will nominate candidates for membership on all Permanent Committees *and Standing Committees* except the Nominating Committee, which will be done as described above in Section V.D.

**Reason for change:** Clarification to Nominating Committee responsibilities aligning with current practices.

<sup>\*</sup>Additions in blue.

# **VI. J. Student Appeals Committee**

The COM-Tucson Faculty will elect the Student Appeals Committee, which will consist of at least five (5) six (6) faculty members.

**Reason for change:** Clarification to committee membership aligning with current practices. Harmonizes membership language across committees. The Student Appeals Committee has been composed of six (6) faculty, as recorded by available documents for review. Change supported by committee chair(s).

<sup>\*</sup>Additions in **blue**, removed text in **red**.

### **VI.K. Student Progress Committee**

The COM-Tucson Faculty will elect its own members to the Student Progress Committee, which will consist of at least eight (8) Faculty members, and one (1) student from each class year.

**Reason for change:** Clarification to committee membership aligning with current practices. Harmonizes membership language across committees. The Student Progress Committee has been composed of eight (8) faculty, as recorded by available documents for review. Change supported by committee chair(s).

<sup>\*</sup>Additions in **blue**, removed text in **red**.

#### Current:

#### VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

The COM-Tucson Faculty may create Standing Committees by a majority of the Voting Faculty at any regular or special meeting. The *committee charge and the* rules governing such committees will be determined by the Voting Faculty at the time it creates a standing committee. *Rules may be changed at any time by a majority vote of the committee members, and with approval from the Nominating Committee. The charge of the committee may only be changed by a majority vote of the Voting Faculty.* Standing Committees may be abolished by a majority vote of the Voting Faculty *at any regular or special meeting*.

\*Additions in blue.

**Reason for change:** Provides clarification and guidance to standing committee charges, rules, and abolishment aligning with current practices.